9th Grade English

Well, we are no longer waiting to hear from Fresno Pacific University.  That’s about all that I have to say about that.  If one can’t say something nice, after all, it’s better to restrict oneself to comments about the weather.

The weather is cold and rainy.  That’s about all that I have to say about that.

So, today I get to help Peter with an on-line English lesson.  It’s about a short story called “The Lottery” by Shirley Jackson.  Maybe you read it long ago in 9th grade English.  It seems vaguely familiar to me.  The plot is simple.  All the people in a city have to draw a lottery ticket, and the unlucky person who draws the one with the black mark gets stoned to death by all the other people in the city.  Lovely.  And I guess that’s just pretty much about all that I have to say about that.

But I will rise above it all.  Don’t worry.  I’m Rhonda Langley, champion of the odd and unlucky.  It’s my destiny.  Apparently.  Maybe I’ll go down in history like Johny Appleseed.  Except I’ll be Rhonda daffodil-bulb.  I’ll just wander around Fresno planting daffodil bulbs everywhere.  Or something.

 

Leave a Reply

