April?

Friday morning, Good Friday.  Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday were really pretty good as well.  In fact, it’s been the best spring break ever.  Silas and I were happy and excited, because Fresno Pacific announced an opening for a full time philosophy professor and Silas applied for it.  Our happiness seemed to trickle down and put the boys in a good mood as well.  Fighting was at a minimum.  I cheerfully bought Silas new dress pants and measured all our furniture and charted out how to fit it into the u-haul truck.

Now there’s just the little matter of April.  Silas has to teach two classes, go to a conference in Canada, possibly go to Fresno for an interview (we hope!), plus we have to buy a house, clean this one really well before the appraisal, I have to go to work every day, help Peter through his on-line lessons, and, well, all those sorts of things.  It feels just a wee bit stressful.

Which means it’s time to focus on the important things– the beauty of spring, the light in each other’s eyes, the many voices singing together at church on Easter morning.  And the quiet mystery of every breath we take.  All the other things will sort themselves somehow, whether we worry about them or not.

And yes, I did play guitar this week.  That was on my list of things to do.  Guitar, violin, piano, recorder, and I also created a music teaching website for myself.  It does seem, for a person who isn’t really into technology, that I like starting websites.  Oh well.  If you want to see it, feel free to go to http://www.lessonswithrhonda.com.  I’m particularly happy about how I learned to upload little video clips.  You can listen to Joseph and me playing a recorder/guitar duet, among other things.  It brings tears to my eyes.  That little one minute moment of beautiful perfection sort of embraces all my hopes and all my love as a parent– the hope that my children will rise above the messy and confusing parts of life and feel the wholeness and beauty of it.

Leave a Reply

