Guitar

Saturday morning I bought a guitar for $40.00.  Saturday afternoon, while Joseph was at a friend’s house, I played guitar for about three hours straight, feeling ridiculously happy about it.  Peter suggested that I was playing it too much.  (I suggested maybe he was spending too much time on the computer).  But by the end of the afternoon, I could play one children’s Halloween song, and one church song that I like.  And I was ridiculously happy about that.  And my fingers hurt.

So Monday, I took that guitar to school, and it seemed to emit an expansive shield of happiness around me as various students had rather hard Monday mornings involving quite a bit of screaming.  I could have hugged them all and said “It’s alright!  Because I can play guitar now!”  And later, at circle time, I played my Halloween song for them.  They listened with a fair degree of interest.  No screaming that I can recall.

As a violinist, there’s something very freeing about a guitar.  The violin has to be held right under your chin.  It sort of robs you of your voice while you’re playing.  You can’t sing along.  You sacrifice part of yourself for the music.  But with guitar, it’s more of a partnership. You feel it vibrating through you, and your voice is free to sing or hum along.  Something about the smallness of the plucking movement too, as opposed to the big motion of pulling a bow across a string . . .

Okay, enough about the guitar.  I realize already that the magic of it is fading.  I don’t have three hour chunks of time very often, and my students will get less attentive when the guitar isn’t a novelty.  But it’s been nice.

I haven’t forgotten about Kate, and wanting to get together with her somehow.  So I e-mailed her and gave my phone number.  I also invited her to our church on November 18, for the gala book signing event for The Year of 42 (otherwise known as putting-a-few-copies-out-after-the-service-in case-anyone-is-interested).  I’m going to bring her original cardboard art work and I’m sure people would be interested and friendly.  Probably not a big chance that she would want to come.  But maybe.

4 thoughts on “Guitar

  1. Rhonda, I am so glad you found the guitar. I know what you mean about it being “freeing”… I grew up taking piano lessons for over ten years – all the music came out from the ends of my fingers. With the guitar, I wrap my arms around it and the music sings right out from my solar plexus – right from the center of me. I play instrumental fingerstyle music – I let the guitar do the singing for me. Recently, I began learning to write my own instrumental pieces and it is so gratifying. The magic has never faded. I hope that you find that to be the case as well. I find that the journey through the guitar is much like the journey of Life… =)

    1. I thought of you, knowing that you play the guitar! The one I bought is a classical guitar, though I didn’t know the difference until after I bought it. But I like fingering-type playing as well. I hope it’s the beginning of a long journey of guitar playing for me!

  2. Rhonda,
    I think you inspired me to pick up the guitar again! I used to play in college (nothing fancy, just chords for praise songs) and I’ve been trying to figure out an instrument I can play with Emmy. I can’t play the violin with her (you can imagine how that would go with a 1.5 year old and I value my fragile violin too much), and the accordion is difficult because she is very into it and I have several times knocked her in the head with it while moving the bellows. I’m thinking I can get a cheap guitar and play children’s songs to her and she can bang on it all she wants and strum the strings. My other MO is that it will be fun for me too!! (I hate to admit it, but sometimes playing with a toddler gets very tedious, as much as I love her. ) I’ll let you know how it goes– hopefully not a complete disaster. Now to find a guitar that won’t mind a toddler all over it!

Leave a Reply

